Monday, 13 June 2011

Grey Knights and Rulebook FAQ Updates

So just a quick one, we got the new FAQ's today - fairly standard stuff, but we got the Grey Knights through and the Rulebook 1.3 as well - which sort of cross over for some bits, which is nice to see.

I am sure this will be blanketed over by someone's Battle Report? Atreides?! Still waiting, apparently his pictures of the battles came out great, and he has a ton of army pictures from Blog Wars still to come as well. And of course both myself and Venerable still have our Game 3's to wrap up, but I have to say my G3 Report will be short with zero pictures and not the biggest amount of action. 

RuleBook FAQ 1.3

Most Notable:

Q: Do the effects of the same psychic power cast
multiple times on the same unit stack? (p50)
A: Yes, unless specifically stated otherwise

Clearly refering to the slue of people double stacking Hammerhand - which is perfectly fine!
EDITOR: Sorry to hijack Bully, but I feel these are important ones too...

Q: Do psychic shooting attacks need to roll to hit? (p50)
A: Yes.Jaws of the World Wolf? Lash? Blood Lance? etc all need to hit based on BS skill of the Psyker and reduce the overall chance of this shit going 33% in most of the cases as they will miss quite a bit... REALLY? I'm not sold on this one..

Q: Can a psyker attempt to cast the same psychic

power more than once in a turn? (p50)
A: No, unless the psychic power itself specifically allows it.

No, you will not get Shrouding off if you fail it the first time... Yes, you will buy Hammerhand and Might if you want +2S...

Grey Knight FAQ

Most Notable:

Q: What counts as a Daemon? (p21)
A: Everything in the Chaos Daemons codex, Daemon
Princes, Possessed Chaos Space Marines, Obliterators,
summoned greater Daemons, summoned lesser
Daemons, any vehicle with the daemonic possesion
upgrade, Daemonhosts, Mandrakes, Kheradruakh the
Decapitator, the Avatar.

So I do think this was one to be clarified - as I've had someone the other day claim that their Demon Prince wasn't a demon - my reply was "enjoy THAT while it lasts" - he got a massive four days! Though they really went out the whole hog. What's interesting is that they've specified the Avatar in here, yet not FAQ'd him to be immune to flamestorm cannons. They rectify common sense in writing one way, but not the other.

Q: If a walker is the target of Unyielding Anvil, from
the Grand Strategy special rule, can it claim objective
even though it is a vehicle? (p22)
A: Yes.

More highlighting this because I didn't even realise it was a point of contention? Oh well, I am sure if I ever do have this situation the first time I play it at the LGS I'd have someone saying I can't do it lol.

Q: If a unit is the target of Unyielding Anvil, from the
Grand Strategy special rule, and it splits into combat
squads, can both combat squads claim objectives? (p22)
A: Yes.

Never really thought of it, common sense again really, but glad its down on paper.

Q: If a Grand Master gives a unit with personal
teleporters the Scouts special rule, can they use their
shunt move as a part of their Scouts move? (p22)
A: No.

This one is the biggy. I think a lot of people expected it to be FAQ'd. I don't think it was overly game breaking / powered but probably for the best.

Q: Personal teleporters make the unit with them jump
infantry. How does this affect a Dreadknight with a
personal teleporter? (p28)
A: It is a monstrous creature that moves like jump

Anyone that used this cheese mongery deserves a slap!

Q: Does a Dreadknight with a Nemesis doomfist strike
at Strength 6 or Strength 10 in close combat? (p34)
A: Strength 6, as it is not a walker.

Interesting just purely because at Blog Wars, Marc was telling me about the use of Dread Knights with S10 fists at initiative - makes glaring sense really as that Demon Hammer really doesn't live up to cost otherwise.

Q: Can models in Terminator armour embark onto an
nquisitorial Chimera? (p51)
A: Yes.

Despite people doing this since 3rd Ed - its finally got a FAQ!!!

Anyway - in risk of this being stupidly long - some decent FAQ's - a lot of common sense clarification (like those cheese monkeys spamming Coteaz armies with no FOC limit!), and the main FAQ ruling on the hammer hand is good as well (indirectly but its clear what it means!).


  1. happy all this crap got sorted! sorry for lack of posts, i am on a crazy creative ride for the first time in 3 months modelling-wise and i really dont feel like posting till i have my first squad of purifiers done i'm afraid! (dont worry, only one psycannon away)

  2. Venerable Brother13 June 2011 at 19:55

    Hijacked Bully...wanted the 'Psychic shooting attacks need to hit' one (which I feel is a poor decision) and the multiple casts thing on there as notable..all else is how most peeps play it right?

    Atreides...don't make me give you a written warning bitch, get your Blog Wars photos up!!!!! I'll just delete any other shit...freedom of the press can suck my balls! lol

  3. Would you class Jaws as a template weapon?

    Now lash isn't a shooting attack what changes will that have I wonder?

  4. Flamers, breath of chaos and warp rift...those are template weapons...they state they are...not jaws though. I haven't checked yet, but does the sw codex state it doesn't need to hit? Its just like "draw a line"...hmmmm...with chooser not really a problem

  5. Well I've played you have to hit with psychic shooting the whole time. With jaws you hit the first model, the rest are auto hit.

  6. Jaws states its a shooting attack, so yeh you gotta roll to hit. Never leave home without your Chooser of the slain ladies and gentleman.

  7. Ven hijacking my thread ...

    I actually thought I had that in there - must have deleted it by accident (as i deleted a couple others as it got a big long).

    Some interesting stuff though. I pretty much always assumed you had to cast then roll to hit with the psy shooting attacks (that aren't templates).

  8. Venerable Brother14 June 2011 at 06:48

    Behvae boys, I've never ever seen anyone roll to it with jaws! Test, draw a line, done.

    Not so much anymore.. and as Killswitch states....Chooser, now ALL runepriests cost 110 standard..

  9. ... and what about Murderous Hurricane which states "This power is a psychic shooting attack with a range of 18". The target unit takes 3D6 Strength 4 hits with AP-."

    It says they are hits, but as a shooting attack according to the FAQ you now need to roll to hit with those hits. Not clear (at least not to me), and I bet there'll be some arguing.

    For the record, I hadn't been rolling to hit before as it had said hits, now I'll be rolling and defo taking choosers every time.

  10. codex always supplants rulebook, so if a power says it causes hits, that is the same as saying it automatically hits, just like some 'Nid powers.

  11. Nid powers state explicitly they autohit..paroxysm for example.

    Previous to this I've been just hitting automatically as this is what it states..."hits"

    But then Jaws says nothing about hitting or rolling, just drawing a line...? Does codex trump rulebook on this? Or does jaws not have a PROFILE and therefore not count, even though it states it is shooting...?

    MH, I'd stick to autohits although it is not as explicit as Nid powers...? Anyone else?

  12. Faq trumps codex unfortunately so id say they both roll to hit now. Murderous huricane is a shooting attack, faq states ALL shooting attacks roll to hit. Its bassically to kill problems like MH. No more argueing, just roll to hit etc.

    Jaws is a shooting attack, whether it has a profile or not. Honestly its not a big difference, Bs 5 means we arnt exactly nerfed. The powers we have are rediulously good anyways.

  13. Faq does not trump codex if it is the Faq for the rulebook.

  14. What Atreides said. FAQ for Codex would trump Codex..but not rulebook...

    If the codex says autohit, then this instructs us in greater detail than rulebook....?